One-stop early voting is underway

Published 2:22 pm Thursday, October 14, 2021

The one-stop early voting period for the 2021 municipal election in Beaufort County started Thursday morning and will run through Saturday, Oct. 30.

The county’s early voting site is the Beaufort County Board of Elections office, which is located at 1308 Highland Drive in Washington. Early voting will be available every weekday from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. On Saturday, Oct. 30, the final day of early voting, the office will be open from 8 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Election Day is Nov. 2.

During the early voting period, any registered voter may vote at any early voting site in their municipality before Election Day. Individuals may also register and vote at the same time using same-day registration.

To take advantage of same-day registration, voters must attest to their eligibility by signing a voter registration application and providing proof of residence.

During the early voting period, registered voters may update their name or address, but may not change their party affiliation.

“At the State Board, we want as many eligible voters as possible to be able to cast a ballot,” said Karen Brinson Bell, executive director of the State Board of Elections. “We encourage voters to use the voting method that works best for them.”

Voters may also vote on Election Day, Nov. 2, at their assigned precinct or cast an absentee-by-mail ballot. The deadline to request a ballot is Oct. 26.

Belhaven is the only Beaufort County municipality with a contested mayoral race this year, as Ricky Credle is seeking reelection against Arthur Bonner. In other contested races, one seat on the Town of Aurora Board of Commissioners will go to a write-in candidate because not enough candidates filed; appointed Belhaven Alderman Greg Satterthwaite is challenged by Bobby Freeman in his bid to retain his seat representing West End; Louise Furman, Billy Albritton and Gerald Bullock are vying for two seats on the Chocowinity Board of Commissioners; and 10 candidates are vying for five available seats on the Washington City Council. The field in Washington includes incumbents Richard Brooks, Betsy Kane, William Pitt, Virginia Finnerty and appointed member Mike Renn, as well as A.J. Congleton, Bobby Roberson, Lou Hodges, Roland Wyman and Gwendolyn Gilbert.