What to know on Election Day

Published 9:49 am Sunday, October 31, 2021

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 2.

On that day races for spots on several local municipal boards will be decided, and one mayoral race will be conducted as well.

Here are some key points to know about this year’s municipal elections:


Hopkins said Friday many voters are still showing up to the Board of Elections office confused because they think the race for Beaufort County sheriff is being contested this year. That race will be contested in 2022, but many candidates for sheriff have already placed campaign signs around the county. Municipal elections are the only races being contested in the 2021 cycle.


To see your polling place, use the voter search tool at https://vt.ncsbe.gov/RegLkup/ or the polling place search tool at https://vt.ncsbe.gov/PPLkup/.  Sample ballots can also be viewed using the voter search tool, or by visiting beaufortncboe.org. Polls in municipalities conducting elections are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day. Voters in line at 7:30 p.m. will be able to cast a ballot. Voter ID is not required to vote in the 2021 elections.


No, same-day registration is not available on Election Day. If you aren’t registered to vote by Election Day you won’t be able to participate in this year’s election.


Many candidates submitted information about their platforms to Voter411ENC.org, a nonpartisan public service run by two East Carolina University professors. For the Washington City Council race in particular, candidates have been responding to questions from the public on a Facebook page called “Ask the Candidates – Washington NC.”

Here’s how the ballots will look for each municipality:

·      Aurora: Mayor Clif Williams is uncontested in his bid for re-election; voters can choose him or a write-in candidate of their choice. Two town board seats are open, and Jeff Peed is the only candidate who filed for re-election. Voters can choose two candidates, so in this case it can be Peed and a write-in candidate or just two write-in candidates.

·      Washington: Mayor Donald Sadler is unopposed in his bid for re-election, so voters can choose him or a write-in candidate. There are 10 candidates vying for five City Council seats. Voters can choose five of the following candidates, with the option for write-in candidates available as well: Richard Brooks, A.J. Congleton, Virginia Finnerty, Gwendolyn Gilbert, Lou Hodges, Betsy Kane, William Pitt, Mike Renn, Bobby Roberson, Roland Wyman.

·      Belhaven: Arthur Bonner and incumbent Ricky Credle are facing off in the county’s only contested mayoral race. Ricky Radcliffe is the only candidate who filed for the open seat representing the East End on the Board of Aldermen. Bobby Freeman and Greg Satterthwaite are vying for one seat representing the West End. Write-in slots are available for both races.

·      Chocowinity: Mayor Jimmy Mobley is uncontested in his bid for re-election. Voters can choose two of three candidates for the board of commissioners: William J. (Billy) Albritton, Gerald L. Bullock and Louise Furman. Write-in candidates can be included as well.

·      Pantego: Mayor Stuart Ricks is uncontested in his bid for re-election. There are as many candidates as there are available commissioner seats, so the following candidates will win unless a write in candidate(s) prevails: Mart Benson, Reid Gelderman, Chad Keech, Matthew van Nortwick and Chuck Williams

·      Bath: The only race being contested here is for two commissioner seats. Voters can make two choices, and the registered candidates are Donald W. Shreve and Donna Wortman. Write-in candidates can be selected as well.

·      Washington Park:  Mayor Tom Richter is unopposed in his bid for re-election. For the board of commissioners, voters can choose five from the following: Lee Bowen, Belinda Cowell, Wade Dale, Patrick Nash and Jeff Peacock.