Write-in candidates victorious in Bath

Published 1:41 pm Wednesday, November 3, 2021

Two write-in candidates emerged victorious Tuesday in the race for two seats up for election on the Town of Bath Board of Commissioners.

Write-in candidates Jim Caton and Scott Mason earned 83 and 70 votes, respectively, based on unofficial results that won’t be finalized until canvassing is completed on Nov. 9. Donald W. Shreve and Donna Wortman, the two individuals who formally filed as candidates in that race, received 55 and 36 votes, respectively.

Caton currently serves on the Board of Commissioners as an appointed member.

A write-in candidate will be elected in Aurora as well. Two seats are open on the Aurora Board of Commissioners, and incumbent Jeff Peed was the only candidate who filed. Because no one else filed within Aurora’s extended window, the second spot will go to a write-in candidate. At least seven write-in candidates were recorded in the Aurora race, and the Beaufort County Board of Elections was working on finalizing those results Wednesday.