Demons repeat as conference champs; Indians crown individual champion

Published 4:27 pm Tuesday, January 31, 2023

P.S. Jones repeated as the Pitt County Middle School Athletic Conference team wrestling champions, while Chocowinity MS crowned an individual champion in the program’s first year Saturday morning at Washington High School.

The Demons claimed their second straight title over A.G. Cox, 245.05-202, with North Pitt a distant third. G.P. Whitfield, Greene County, N.C. Prep and Chocowinity completed the field.

P.S. Jones used depth to take the title, with wrestlers in the championship match in 11 of the 18 weight classes, top three finishes in 16 classes and four champions.

Bryce Perry (98 lb.), Sam Boltes (106), Tucker Massie (113) and Jabaree Norman (132) won their weight classes, while Wyatt Shipley (90), Brennon Warren (126), Joseph McKinney (145), Braxton Davenport (160), Wyatt Johnson (170) Owen O’Kane (195) and Tr’reion Hyman (Hwt) finished second.

“Our wrestlers have grown a lot over the course of the season and it paid off for us in the tournament,” coach Jeremy Walker said. “I’m very pleased with the way the more experienced guys helped the younger ones improve and the comradery on the team has been very good. They’ve all improved their wrestling technique and it worked out well.”

Henley Pake (76), Lawrence Doby (120), Carlos Arballo (152), Trevor Chrismon (182) and Jose Romero Rochin (220) finished third for P.S. Jones.

The Demons finished 12-0 during the regular season and have won 26 consecutive regular season conference matches in Walker’s two years as the head coach.

Meanwhile, 8th-grader Cody Deel is the first weight class conference champion in Chocowinity Middle School history as the program completed its first season.

Deel pinned his A.G. Cox opponent in 42 seconds to reach the final, then won the title with a 7-1 decision over his opponent from G.P. Whitfield.

Steven Jones (195) and Chase Vance (Hwt) finished third for the Indians.