Broadwell named Runner of the Year; Tennis wins league title, golf second

Published 8:10 pm Friday, May 5, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...


Pam Pack junior Hailey Broadwell earned her third straight Eastern Plains Conference Runner of the Year award after Thursday’s conference meet at Greene Central HS in Snow Hill.

Broadwell won the 1600 meters in 6:37, the 3200 in 15:30.42 and was part of the first place 4x 800 relay team with Jessica Conner, Jasmine Figueroa and Sary Acosta and finished second in the 800 in 2:51.90

“Hailey has put in the extra work on weekends and after practice to keep improving and it’s showed all season.” WHS distance runners coach Dawn Landen said. “She trains with longer runs to improve her endurance and her times have improved consistently.”

The Pam Pack girls finished second behind Farmville Central.

Conner was second in the 1600 (7:03) and the 3200 (15:30.42), Lydia Smith was third in the 800 (3:05.57), Figueroa was third in the 1600 (7:18.50) and Acosta finished third in the 3200 (18:33.66)

The boys finished sixth behind first-place Greene Central.

David Berrera won the 1600 in 5:15.35, while Manuel Meza won the 3200 in 11:41.84 and was fourth in the 1600 in 5:29.89. Christian Norman took fourth in the 100 meters in 11:57.

The 2A East Regional meet is next week in Elizabeth City. The top four finishers in each event qualify for the state meet.

The Pam Pack boys tennis team won the EPC tournament title by one point over host Greene Central.

Senior Keenan Curtis lost in the singles finals, but qualified for the regional along with Davis Jones, who finished third.

The doubles teams of Micah Whitley/Miller Spruill and Braden Smithwick/Victor Hill finished third and fourth and also qualified for the regional.

The Pam Pack golf team finished second to Farmville Central in the EPC tournament at Cutter Creek in Snow Hill, but still qualified for the regional.

Senior Rob Bergevin won Player of the Year honors made the All-Conference team for the third straight season along with teammate Marshall Asby.

The top three teams in Monday’s East Regional in Wilson qualify for the state tournament along with the top five individual finishers.