Seahawks hold athletic awards ceremony

Published 3:14 pm Monday, May 29, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Southside High School wrapped up a successful athletics season with its winter and spring awards ceremony Thursday. State playoff appearances in boys and girls basketball, baseball and softball were among the many highlights along with Ka’Nyah O’Neal’s record-setting performance on the basketball court. She graduates as the Seahawks all-time leading scorer and is among only 13 players in state girls basketball history to have over 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds during her career.

Senior Elyjaih Baldwin qualified for the state wrestling tournament, classmate Gabe Matthews competed in the state golf tournament and Ty and Delta Cole represented the school at the state swim meet. The Southside boys and girls track teams also made a strong showing at the state meet in Greensboro. Below are the award winners in each sport.



Luke Bullock – Rookie Pitcher of the Year

Jackson Harding – Offensive Player of the Year

Josh Lewis – Coaches Award



Gabe Matthews – Most Valuable Player

Caleb Dixon – High Flyer

Harrison Phelps – Coaches Award


Logan Dail – Team MVP

Lily McLean – Offensive MVP

Savannah Silverthorne – Defensive MVP

Reece Cutler – Coaches Award


Men’s Track

Frankie Furlough – Most Valuable Player

Jacob Taylor – Most Valuable Player

Daylan Hardy – Track MVP

Elgin Stilley – Shot and Discus MVP

Tequon Moore – Field MVP

Teddrick Minor – Rookie of the Year

Nolan Dixon- Most Dedicated

Women’s Track

I’Kiriyah Minor – Most Valuable Player

Ka’ Nyah O’Neal – All Around Athlete

Estrella Ramos – Most Improved

De’Najaha Warren -Sportsmanship Award

Madison Carlton – Most Dedicated Field Award

Emma Smith – Distance Award

Jaden Johnson – Track Award

Women’s Soccer

Lilly Davis-Most Valuable Player

Emma Silva-Offensive Player

Yoreyma Vargas- Defensive Player

Ryleigh Hombrig-Most Improved

Vanessa Gonzalez-Coaches Award

JV Basketball

JV Basketball Coaches Award- Jeremiah Satchell

JV Basketball MVP- Joshua Armstrong

JV Basketball Most Improved – Zymere Wiggins

Varsity Basketball

Varsity Basketball Offensive MVP -Manvonte Deloach

Varsity Basketball Defensive MVP -Tequon Moore

Varsity Basketball Coaches Award -Mason Elks


Best All-Around- Logan Dail

Coaches Award- Taylor Toler

Rookie of the Year- Janyah Moore

Best Tumbler- Annalyn Silverthorne

All-Conference- Logan Dail

All-Conference- Taylor Toler


Delta Cole- Best Female Swimmer

Ty Cole- Best Male Swimmer



Most Valuable Player- Elyjaih Baldwin-

Rookie of the Year- Jonathan Salas

Coaches Award -Latham Dixon

Technical Wrestler Award- Caleb Dixon