Northside recognizes 2022-23 athletes

Published 6:35 pm Thursday, June 8, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Seniors Jayvian O’Neal and Hannah Black are the Northside male and female athletes of the year for the 2022-23 school year.

O’Neal played linebacker/tight end on the Panthers’ third round state playoff team, won the East Regional wrestling championship in the 182 lb. class and competed in multiple track and field events, while Black was a volleyball and softball captain on teams that made deep playoff runs. She also made All-Conference in both sports. Recipients had to play at least two sports while demonstrating athletic skill, leadership and sportsmanship.

Other department awards included Scholar Athlete of the Year: Caden Cullipher (male) and Madalyn Gibbs (female) Requirements: Senior, Played at least two semesters in at least two or more sports, and lettered at least two semesters in both sports, played at least one semester as a senior and had a GPA that fell in the top 20 % by grade review.

Distinguished Athlete Award: Zane Brooks (male) and Jean Grace DeHoog (female) Requirements: A junior or senior at the varsity level and an outstanding young citizen.

Athletic Integrity Award: Carson Clinkscales (male) and Riley Respess (female) Requirements: Excelled in any organized sport during the year and demonstrated a strong academic performance with at least a B average

Awards by sport

Basketball Men’s Varsity 2023

Defensive Player of the Year – Griffin Johnson

Offensive Player of the Year – Tate Gibbs, Malachi Moore

Heart and Hustle – Brandon Arthur

Coaches Award – Max Vansant

All Conference- Griffin Johnson, Tate Gibbs

All-Tournament Team – Malachi Moore

2nd Team All-Conference- Malachi Moore, Max Vansant

Basketball (Women’s Varsity) 2023

Best All Around – Olivia Jane Cahoon

Offense Award – Mariah Jones

Coach’s Award – Jean Grace DeHoog/Piper Johnson

Heart and Hustle –Kenan Woolard

All-Conference- Mariah Jones (Forward), Olivia Jane Cahoon (Guard)

All-Tournament Team – Mariah Jones

Basketball (Men’s JV) 2023

Player of the Year – Kevin Berrelleza

Wrestling (Varsity) 2023

Most Outstanding Wrestler – Jayvian O’Neal

Most Improved Wrestler– Landon Shiver

Leadership and Academic Excellence – Augustus Vansant

Loyalty Award – El Lee Nicholas Roberts

Coach’s Award– Ronan Lewis

All Conference – Jayvian O’Neal (182), Jacob Robert (113)

Eastern Regional Champion – Jayvian O’Neal (182)

Volleyball (Varsity) 2022

Coach’s Award-Riley Respess

Best All Around- Hannah Baker

Best Hitter- Hannah Black

Most Improved- Paige Smith & Jean Grace DeHoog

All Conference-Jean Grace DeHoog, Hannah Black, Hannah Baker and Paige Smith

Volleyball (JV) 2022

Player of the Year – Chloe Black

Football (Varsity) 2022

Offensive Back Award – Marcus Clayton and Jamie Corprew

Offensive Lineman Award – Griffin Johnson and Tate Gibbs

Defensive Lineman Award – Nick Roberts and Elijah Holloway

Linebacker Award – Gus Vansant and Jayvian O’Neal

Leadership Award “Heart of the Panther” – Carson Clinkscales

All Conference – Tate Gibbs, Nick Roberts, Gus Vansant (OL), Elijah Holloway (DL), Marcus Clayton (RB), Carson Clinkscales, Jayvian O’Neal (LB)

2nd Team All-Conference– Jamie Corprew (RB & DB)

Honorable Mention – John Best, Max Vansant, Chase Tomaini & Landon Buck

Football (JV) 2022

Player of the Year – Sincere Columbus

Women’s Soccer (Varsity) 2023

Defensive Player of the Year – Clair Alligood

Coaches Award – Valeryia Dubavitskaya

Best Teammate – Addyson Davenport

Best All Around – Abigail Bass

All Conference –Lauren Rouse, Gabriella Jordon

Coach of the Year – Jennifer Woolard

Cheerleading (Varsity) 2023

Coaches Award – Brittney Bell

Spirit Award – Sierra Minor

Most Valuable – Trinity O’Neal

Most Improved – Mackenzie Conaway

Baseball (Varsity) 2023

Offensive Award – Jarrett Spruill

Defensive Award – Brandon Arthur

Pitching Award – Eli Huynh/Tres Cherry

Best All Around – Carson Clinkscales

All Conference –Brandon Arthur, Carson Clinkscales, Eli Huynh, Tres Cherry, Briley Cooper, Hunter Chrismon

Coach of the Year – Keith Boyd

Softball (Varsity) 2023

Offensive Player of the Year –Isabella Boykin

Defensive Player of the Year –Samantha Braddy

MVP – Emaleigh Cherry

Rookie of the Year – Riley Hudson

All Conference – Isabella Boykin (Pitcher), Hannah Black, Samantha Braddy, Jaden Clark & Jorden Clark

Coach of the Year – Kevan Rabat

Cross Country (Varsity) 2022


Top Runner – Andrew Harding

MVP – Tucker Proctor

Coaches Choice – Mason Newman

Coastal Plains Conference Runner of the Year – Andrew Harding

All Conference – Mason Newman


Top Runner – Kiele Scott

MVP – Hannah Smith

Coaches Choice – Leah Cahoon

All Conference – Kiele Scott, Emma Boyd and Leah Cahoon

Track (Varsity) 2023


Top Male Athlete – Andrew Harding

Most Improved – Nick Edwards

Rookie Runner – C.J Toodle


Top Female Athlete – Kiele Scott

Most Improved – Jean Grace DeHoog

Rookie Runner – Bailey Singleton

Golf (Varsity) 2023

Most Improved – Jackson Respess

Rookie of the Year – Bryce Evans

Coach’s Award – Cole Tomaini, David Wallace

Player of the Year – Gavin Sawyer

All Conference – David Wallace, Gus Vansant, Wyatt Berry and Claire Holmes

Regional Qualifiers – David Wallace, Max Vansant, Wyatt Berry, Gavin Sawyer and Claire Holmes

State Qualifier – David Wallace, Max Vansant, Wyatt Berry, Gavin Sawyer and Claire Holmes

Coach of the Year – Jared Adams