Six Seahawks earn All-Conference honors

Published 5:10 pm Thursday, January 18, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Southside put on a late-season surge to finish second in the Coastal Plains Conference in the fall and six players who were heavily in involved ended up on the All-Conference first team.
Southside announced the awards at their fall sports banquet held last week.
Senior Tequon (Tater) Moore was chosen as the league’s Special Teams Player of the Year as well as All-Conference. Moore did a little of everything on both sides of the ball and even punted on the way to 1,208 all-purpose yards, 20 touchdowns and six point after touchdown conversions.
Moore also led the Seahawks (4-7, 4-1) with 61 tackles, three interceptions and a fumble recovery.
“He and Nolan (Dixon) are the two seniors who played all four years and they’ve been a huge part of our success,” coach Jeff Carrow said. “Tater did a lot of everything for us and Is a great kid. I will miss coaching him.”
Dixon, a North Carolina Wesylan signee, contributed 31 tackles as a defensive back and caught 14 passes in a run-oriented offense.
Other first team selections include senior lineman Alex Crisp, junior linemen McKyle Sastre and Nehemiah Credle along with sophomore fullback/linebacker Brian Salinas.
The 6’1, 200 lb. Salinas bulled his way for 675 yards and eight touchdowns while also starting at linebacker. Sastre led the team with six tackles for loss and totaled 49 tackles, while Crisp was in on 26 stops and Credle recorded 11.
“You didn’t hear about those guys as much, but they were very important to us,” Carrow said. “This was McKyle’s first full year of football and he worked hard in the weight room so he could contribute. Alex was a hard-nosed, gritty player for us who played bigger than he was. Brian was a bruiser at fullback and overcame a shoulder injury to play well. It will be great to have the younger guys back and I’ll miss my seniors.”
Seniors Orlando Woolard and Noah Smith, junior Myquon Clark and sophomore Josh Lewis were named to the second team, while sophomore quarterback Luke Bullock made honorable mention.