Pack duo receives recognition

Published 10:40 am Wednesday, March 13, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The post-season accolades have started to roll in for the just completed high school basketball season and Washington High School teammates Chaise Smith and Javon Williams picked the first of several anticipated awards earlier this week.

Smith, a 6’2 sophomore point guard, was named to the North Carolina Basketball Coaches Association’s District 1 first team, while Williams, a 6’4 junior wing player, was named to the second team.

There are 12 state-wide districts from the coast to the mountains and coaches from each district vote for the players for the five-man first, second and third teams regardless of classification.
First Flight junior Mason Dobie was named the District 1 Player of the Year. Smith joined him on the first team along with two from Elizabeth City’s Northeastern HS and one from Bertie HS.

Smith averaged 19.5 points, 6.4 assists, 4.7 rebounds and 3.2 steals for a Washington squad that went 20-9 with a trip to the second round of the 2A state tournament.

“Chaise was involved in basically 30 points a game for us between scoring and assists,” coach David Allewalt said. “He and Javon improved all parts of their game from last year and there’s more to come from both of them. They learned when to let the game come to them and when to take charge this season and that helped our team tremendously.”

Williams, who averaged 11.5 points, 7.5 rebounds, four assists and two steals per contest, had a pair of Hertford Co. players, one from Martin Co. and one from Bertie HS with him on the second team.

“He guarded our opponents best player almost all the time and usually held him to a below average game,” Allewalt said. “He was willing to do all the little things that don’t show up in the highlights to help us win. It’s nice recognition for both of them and I think it means a lot coming from the coaches in our area.”

Smith and Martin Co. freshman Jordan Matthewson were the only two underclassmen out of the 15 players chosen for the three teams.