Beaufort’s Best: Teacher of the Year Nominees Announced

Published 8:20 am Saturday, March 30, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

A select group of educators from Beaufort County Schools has been announced as nominees for the “Teacher of the Year” award for the 2024-2025 academic year. The nominees, each representing their respective schools, have been chosen for their exceptional contributions to education and dedication to student success.

The district recognizes the following educators as candidates for this honorable distinction:

– Gretchen Cushing, Beaufort County Early College High School

– Lindsay Haddock, Eastern Elementary School

– Heather Hall, Chocowinity Primary School

– Otis Levon Harrell, Southside High School

– Katie M. Manning, Bath Elementary School

– Arelis Oconitrillo Palma, Northside High School

– Jennifer Taylor, Northeast Elementary School

– Candi Tucker, Washington High School

– Jenee Brewer, John Small School

– Russ Chesson, Chocowinity Middle School

– Lacie Burns, P.S. Jones Middle School

– Sara Wilson, John Cotten Tayloe Elementary

– Sentrice Williams, S W Snowden Elementary

These dedicated individuals were rigorously evaluated through a panel interview on March 27, showcasing their educational philosophies and teaching methodologies.

“I am honored to be voted by my coworkers who view me as a representative of our school,” expressed Tucker, a civics teacher with more than 25 years of teaching experience. “Washington High School is a special place. My own children have attended WHS and have had fantastic teachers over the years. To be included with them is quite special.”

The Beaufort County “Teacher of the Year” will be announced at a banquet held on May 15 at Beaufort County Community College, commencing at 5:30 p.m. The nominees are a reflection of the caliber of teachers within the district, and the upcoming banquet will not only spotlight the “Teacher of the Year” but also celebrate the collective dedication and passion of all educators within Beaufort County Schools.