Northside recognizes 2023-24 athletes

Published 5:27 pm Tuesday, July 2, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Northside athletic department recently released award winners for the 2023-24 school year.

Basketball (Men’s Varsity) 2024
Defensive Player of the Year – Tate Gibbs, Max Vansant
Offensive Player of the Year – Griffin Johnson, Malachi Moore
Heart and Hustle – MJ McBride
Coaches Award – Brandon Arthur
All Conference- Griffin Johnson, Malachi Moore
All-Tournament Team – Max Vansant
2nd Team All-Conference- Tate Gibbs, Max Vansant

Basketball (Women’s Varsity) 2024
Best All Around – Olivia Jane Cahoon
Offense Award – Mariah Jones
Coach’s Award – Kenan Woolard, Chloe Black
I AM THIRD – Mariah Jones
Defense Award – Sophie Berry
All Conference- Mariah Jones (Forward), Olivia Jane Cahoon (Guard)
All-Tournament Team – Mariah Jones, Olivia Jane Cahoon

Basketball (Freshmen Team) 2024
Player of the Year – Ethan Hall

Basketball (Men’s JV) 2024
Player of the Year – German Mercado

Wrestling (Varsity) 2023
Most Outstanding Wrestler – Jacob Robert, Rylan Paul
Most Improved Wrestler– Nicholas Jordan
Loyalty Award – Chris Alonso-Burgos
Coach’s Award – Landon Shiver
Solid Six – Austin Frazier
All Conference – Rylan Paul (138), Jacob Roberts (113), Lauren Rouse (185)

Volleyball (Varsity) 2023
Coach’s Award-Kenan Woolard, Mya Mixon
Best Defense – Emaleigh Cherry
Best All Around- Chloe Black
Best Hitter- Madison Scheffler
All In – Isabella Boykin, Shilo Smith
All Conference-Chloe Black, Emaleigh Cherry, and Madison Scheffler
All-Tournament Team – Emaleigh Cherry, Madison Scheffler and Chloe Black (Co-MVP)

Volleyball (JV) 2023
Player of the Year – Kaylee Sadler

Football (Varsity) 2023
Offensive Back Award – Jamie Corprew
Offensive Lineman Award – Tate Gibbs
Defensive Lineman Award – Dashawn Smith
Linebacker Award – Gus Vansant and TJ Squires
Leadership Award– Landon Buck
Heart of the Panther– Griffin Johnson
Defensive Back Award – Zanek McCloud
All Conference – Hunter Chrismon- 1st Team-QB, Malachi Moore- 2nd Team- RB, Landon Buck – 1st Team -WR, Malachi Moore- 1st Team-WR, Tate Gibbs- 1st Team-OL Griffin Johnson-1st Team-OL, Zanek McCloud- 1st Team- -DB, Gus Vansant- 1st Team-LB, Max Vansant 1st Team DB/RB, Dashawn Smith- 1st Team- DL, Malachi Moore- 2nd Team-DB, TJ Squires- 2nd Team- LB, Sincere Columbus- 2nd Team-DL

Women’s Soccer (Varsity) 2024
Defensive Player of the Year – Heidi Bell
Coaches Award – Peyton Cooper
Best Teammate – Trinity O’Neal
Best All Around – Lauren Rouse
All Conference –Lauren Rouse, Gabriella Jordon
Coach of the Year – Jennifer Woolard

Cheerleading (Varsity) 2024
Coaches Award – Emma Davis, Kayla White
Spirit Award – Valeryia Dubavitskaya, Clair Alligood
Most Valuable – Trinity O’Neal, Sierra Minor
Most Improved – Carol Verdin-Orduno

Baseball (Varsity) 2024
Offensive Player of the Year – Jamie Corprew
Defensive Player of the Year – Will Taylor
Pitcher of the Year – Brandon Arthur and James Sawyer
Heart of the Panther – Griffin Johnson
All Conference –James Sawyer, Holden Boykin, Jamie Corprew, Hunter Chrisman and Trenton Allen

Baseball (JV) 2024
MVP – Jayden Bass

Softball (Varsity) 2024
Offensive Player of the Year –Taylor Willard & Samantha Braddy
Defensive Player of the Year –Emaleigh Cherry & Jorden Clark
Pitching Award– Isabella Boykin, Jaden Clark
Clutch Player of the Year – Londyn Keech
All Conference – Isabella Boykin, Jaden Clark, Taylor Willard & Londyn Keech
2nd Team All-Conference – Samantha Braddy & Emaleigh Cherry
Honorable Mention – Jorden Clark
Cross Country (Varsity) 2023
Top Runner – Andrew Harding
Most Improved – Emerson Asby
Leadership – Tucker Proctor
Coaches Choice – Colten Smith
Rookie of the Year – Luke Mirabella
Coastal Plains Conference Runner of the Year – Andrew Harding
All Conference – Andrew Harding
Top Runner – Kiele Scott
Rookie of the Year – Starla Fuller
Coaches Choice – Corabeth Asby
Leadership – Emma Boyd
All Conference – Kiele Scott, Ava Hedgepeth

Track (Varsity) 2024
Track Rookie of the Year Boys – Colten Smith
Field Rookie of the Year Boys – Emerson Asby
Track MVP Male – Andrew Harding
Field MVP Boys – Tate Gibbs
Coach’s Award Male – Tyson George
Panther Pride Award Male – Tucker Proctor
Most Improved Track Male – Jack Cohick
Most Improved Field Male – Nick Edwards
Track Rookie of the Year Girls – Cora Beth Asby
Track MVP Female – Kiele Scott
Field Rookie of the Year Girls – Mikaleigh Steptoe
Field MVP Girls – Maria Winfield
Coach’s Award Female – Bailey Singleton
Panther Pride Award Female – Ava Hedgepeth
Most Improved Track Female – Emma Boyd
Most Improved Field Female – Kamryn Lewis
All Conference – Dashawn Smith, Tate Gibbs Faithful Fulcher, Nick Moore, Colten Smith, Andrew Harding, Jackson Steptoe, Tyson George, Sincere Columbus, Zanek McCloud, Jack DeHoog, Tucker Proctor, Avery Roberson, Ava Hedgepeth, Kiele Scott, Emma Boyd, Bailey Singleton, Deja Waters

Golf (Varsity) 2024
Most Improved – Wyatt Berry
Rookie of the Year – Cooper Evans
Coach’s Award – Gus Vansant
Player of the Year – Gavin Sawyer
All Conference – Wyatt Berry, Claire Holmes, Gavin Sawyer, Cooper Evans, Max Vansant
Regional Qualifiers – Max Vansant, Wyatt Berry, Gavin Sawyer and Claire Holmes and Cooper Evans
State Qualifiers – Max Vansant, Wyatt Berry, Gavin Sawyer, Claire Holmes and Cooper Evans
Coach of the Year – Jared Adams