Archived Story

Contested GOP primary assured

Published 7:12pm Wednesday, February 19, 2014

There will be a contested Republican primary in the race for the three seats available on the Beaufort County Board of Commissioners this election cycle.

With Republican Ron Buzzeo filing the required paperwork and paying the filing fee Tuesday, that means at least four Republicans are in the hunt for the available seat on the Board of Commissioners.

The other Republicans who have filed to run for the board are Don Cox, Keith Kidwell and Frankie Waters.

So far, Democrats Ed Booth, an incumbent, and Robert B. Cayton, a former commissioner, have filed to run for the board.

In Beaufort County this election cycle, voters will elect members of Congress, N.C. General Assembly members, county commissioners, a sheriff, a clerk of court, school-board members and soil-and-water commissioners.

E.C. Peed, a veteran member of the Beaufort County Board of Education, has filed the required paperwork to seek re-election. Peed represents District 2 on the Board of Education.

As of Tuesday afternoon, four Democrats and two Republicans are seeking to replace Sheriff Alan Jordan, who is not seeking re-election. The Democrats are Todd Alligood, Russell Davenport, Gary W. Blount and Al J. Whitney. The Republicans are Ernie Coleman and Donald Dixon.

Last week, incumbent state Sen. Bill Cook, a Republican, filed for re-election in his effort to continue to represent District 1 in the state Senate. Former state Sen. Stan White, a Dare County Democrat, has said he will seek the Democratic nomination for District 1. Cook narrowly defeated White in the 2012 election.

Also last week, Michael Bilbro filed to run for the District 6 seat on the Beaufort County Board of Education. Butch Oliver filed to seek the District 8 seat on the school board. Terry Williams filed to seek re-election as the District 4 representative on the school board.

The even-numbered seats on the nine-member Beaufort County Board of Education are available this election cycle.

Incumbent Clerk of Court Marty Paramore, a Democrat, has filed for re-election.

He is being challenged for the clerk of court’s seat by Eva Buck, who has not yet filed but announced her candidacy late last year. She plans to run as an unaffiliated candidate.

Last week, Republican Jimbo Shiver filed to run for the clerk of court’s position.

Primaries are set for May 6. Early voting for the primaries begins April 24 and ends May 3. The general election is set for Nov. 4, with early voting in the general election beginning Oct. 23 and ending Nov. 1.






Editor's Picks

Staying safe during New Years celebrations

Whether you’re braving the natural elements and crowded streets of Times Square in New York City, or huddled up by a fire with your closest ... Read more

N.C. DMV process a work in progress

Last April, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles opened up a brand new, two-story facility in Charlotte. Gone are the lengthy documents of old. ... Read more

Honoring fathers everywhere

The third Sunday every June is the time to celebrate Father’s Day. However, it hasn’t been nationally recognized for that long. The first official Father’s ... Read more