Pirates Davis on Maxwell Award Watch List

Published 7:10 pm Friday, July 8, 2011

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. – East Carolina senior quarterback Dominique Davis has been named to the Maxwell Award Watch List, according to an announcement by the Maxwell Football Club Tuesday evening. The award, which is given to the most outstanding collegiate player, has been presented annually since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell.
Davis made an immediate impact in 2010 after transferring from Fort Scott Community College, turning in a record-breaking campaign during his first season with the Pirates. He was named the Conference USA Newcomer-of-the-Year by league head coaches in addition to being the Rivals.com C-USA MVP, C-USA Offensive MVP and a First-Team All-C-USA pick. Davis was also a second-team all-league honoree by Phil Steele Magazine.
The Maxwell Award recognition is the latest in 2011 for Davis, as he is a Preseason All-Conference selection (fourth-team) by Phil Steele Magazine and was placed on the watch list for the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Quarterback Trophy. Consensus Draft Services (CDSdraft.com) tabbed Davis as a Preseason All-America selection and Lindy’s Magazine labeled him as the “6th-best NFL talent” in C-USA and the league’s “Coolest In The Clutch.”
A year ago, the Lakeland, Fla., native established East Carolina single-season records in touchdown passes (37), attempts (609), completions (393), passing yards (3,967), passing yards per game (305.2), total offensive plays (688), total offensive yardage (4,108) and total offensive yards per game (316.0).
The TD tosses were the sixth most in a year by a Conference USA quarterback while the attempts and completions were the second and third most, respectively, by a C-USA signal caller in a year.
At the FBS level, Davis was one of only four quarterbacks to average more than 300 passing yards per game. He ended the year leading all FBS players in completions per game (30.2), stood second in points per game responsible for (21.4) and third in touchdown passes.
Davis joins Damaris Johnson, Case Keenum and Zach Line as Conference USA representatives on the watch list. The candidates were chosen by the Maxwell Football Club’s selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.
Semifinalists for the award will be announced October 31 and the three finalists will be unveiled November 21. The winners of the 2011 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 8. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 2, 2012.