New initiative: NAACP Youth takes a downtown tour

Published 8:34 pm Thursday, May 9, 2013




As part of a new initiative involving the Beaufort County NAACP Youth Council and law enforcement, council members and director Chynna Bonner met with Lt. Karen Ball with Beaufort County Crime Stoppers on Thursday to get a close look at the Beaufort County Sheriff’s Office. The initiative — Stop the School to Prison Pipeline — on Thursday was encouraging collaboration between the council and local agencies, including law enforcement, to reduce the number of students entering the justice system. Participating in the visit were (front row, from left) Lt. Karen Ball, Nicholas Stokes, Alexis Jenkins, Chelsea Moore, Kendedria Williams, (second row, from left) Dwight Mattocks, Tiara Bryant, (third row, from left) William Norfleet, Mary Moore, Jadeai Moore, Fortune Foreman, Chynna Bonner, (back row) Manuel Collins, Sahaeel Shelton, Ashone Carswell, Breone Carswell and Chris Godley.

About Mike Voss

Mike Voss is the contributing editor at the Washington Daily News. He has a daughter and four grandchildren. Except for nearly six years he worked at the Free Lance-Star in Fredericksburg, Va., in the early to mid-1990s, he has been at the Daily News since April 1986.
Journalism awards:
• Pulitzer Prize for Meritorious Public Service, 1990.
• Society of Professional Journalists: Sigma Delta Chi Award, Bronze Medallion.
• Associated Press Managing Editors’ Public Service Award.
• Investigative Reporters & Editors’ Award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Public Service Award, 1989.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Investigative Reporting, 1990.
All those were for the articles he and Betty Gray wrote about the city’s contaminated water system in 1989-1990.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Investigative Reporting, 1991.
• North Carolina Press Association, Third Place, General News Reporting, 2005.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Lighter Columns, 2006.
Recently learned he will receive another award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Lighter Columns, 2010.
4. Lectured at or served on seminar panels at journalism schools at UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Maryland, Columbia University, Mary Washington University and Francis Marion University.

email author More by Mike