Washington, Pantego will have new mayors

Published 5:09 pm Saturday, July 20, 2013

Washington voters will elect a new mayor in this year’s municipal elections in Beaufort County.

Mac “Bear” Hodges will be the new mayor, unless a write-in candidate tallies more votes than Hodges, who was the only person to file for the mayor’s seat in the county seat. The mayor serves a two-year term.

The filing period for municipal elections ended at noon Friday.

Eight candidates are vying for the five seats on the City Council. Incumbents Richard Brooks, Doug Mercer, William H. Pitt and Bobby Roberson filed for re-election. Ty Carter, Gil Davis (a former council member) and Lloyd May also seeks seats on the council. Council members serve two-year terms.

Aurora Mayor Clif Williams is seeking re-election. Incumbent Patricia Bragg is seeking re-election to the Aurora Board of Commissioners, which has two seats available this election cycle. Raleigh B. Lee III also filed to run for a seat on the board.

W.C. Boyd Jr. filed as a candidate to finish the unexpired term of George Jones, who was elected in 2011 but did not complete his term. In March, Boyd was appointed to the seat once held by Jones. Because at least half of the term remains, a special election is required to elect a commissioner to complete the term.

In Bath, incumbents Patricia Duffer and Jay Hardin filed for re-election to that town’s Board of Commissioners. Bath commissioners serve four-year terms.

Belhaven voters have two choices for mayor, incumbent Adam O’Neal and Ronald Winfield.

Incumbent Steve Carawan and Tony Williams are vying for the east-end seat available on the Board of Aldermen this election cycle. Greg Satterthwaite is seeking the west-end seat available on the board this election cycle.

Julian P. Goff is seeking to finish out the unexpired term of Cindy Ross, who vacated her seat on the board after being elected to it in 2011.

The mayor serves a two-year term. Commissioners serve four-year terms.

Chocowinity Mayor Jimmy Mobley filed for re-election, as did incumbents Billy Albritton and Louise Furman. The mayor and commissioners serve four-year terms.

Pantego voters will elect a new mayor, with current Commissioner Stuart E. Ricks the lone candidate who filed for the mayor’s post. Unless a write-in candidate defeats Ricks, he will replace current Mayor Glenda Jackson. Five candidates are running for the five seats on that town’s Board of Commissioners. They are incumbents Mart Benson, Chad Keech and Robert F. Edwards. Also seeking seats on the board are Reid Michael Gelderman and Charles F. “Chuck” Williams.

The mayor and commissioners serve two-year terms.

Tom Richter is seeking re-election as Washington Park’s mayor. Seeking seats on the five-member Board of Commissioners are incumbents Jeff Peacock, Lee Bowen, Patrick Nash and Don Wilkinson. Brian Wood also seeks a seat on the board. The mayor and commissioners serve two-year terms.

Election Day is Nov. 5.

About Mike Voss

Mike Voss is the contributing editor at the Washington Daily News. He has a daughter and four grandchildren. Except for nearly six years he worked at the Free Lance-Star in Fredericksburg, Va., in the early to mid-1990s, he has been at the Daily News since April 1986.
Journalism awards:
• Pulitzer Prize for Meritorious Public Service, 1990.
• Society of Professional Journalists: Sigma Delta Chi Award, Bronze Medallion.
• Associated Press Managing Editors’ Public Service Award.
• Investigative Reporters & Editors’ Award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Public Service Award, 1989.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Investigative Reporting, 1990.
All those were for the articles he and Betty Gray wrote about the city’s contaminated water system in 1989-1990.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Investigative Reporting, 1991.
• North Carolina Press Association, Third Place, General News Reporting, 2005.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Lighter Columns, 2006.
Recently learned he will receive another award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Lighter Columns, 2010.
4. Lectured at or served on seminar panels at journalism schools at UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Maryland, Columbia University, Mary Washington University and Francis Marion University.

email author More by Mike