Cayton elected chairman of directors

Published 7:16 pm Monday, December 23, 2013



During the December meeting of the N.C. State Board of Directors, Robert Cayton was elected as the new chairman.

Cayton, president of the Beaufort County Grange, is a past chaplain of the North Carolina State Grange. Cayton is an ordained minister and serves the Reelsboro Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) and the Concord Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Pamlico County. He also represents North Carolina on the General Board of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the United States and Canada.

Cayton, a former Beaufort County commissioner, represents the State Grange on the N.C. State Family and Consumer Sciences Foundation Board, currently serving as its president. He is a graduate of the Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary with a Master of Divinity Degree, and Luther Rice Seminary with a doctorate of ministry. In addition to his other duties, he serves as a trustee for Beaufort County Community College and Barton College.

Cayton is married to Debra Rose Cayton and they live in Aurora.

About Mike Voss

Mike Voss is the contributing editor at the Washington Daily News. He has a daughter and four grandchildren. Except for nearly six years he worked at the Free Lance-Star in Fredericksburg, Va., in the early to mid-1990s, he has been at the Daily News since April 1986.
Journalism awards:
• Pulitzer Prize for Meritorious Public Service, 1990.
• Society of Professional Journalists: Sigma Delta Chi Award, Bronze Medallion.
• Associated Press Managing Editors’ Public Service Award.
• Investigative Reporters & Editors’ Award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Public Service Award, 1989.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Investigative Reporting, 1990.
All those were for the articles he and Betty Gray wrote about the city’s contaminated water system in 1989-1990.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Investigative Reporting, 1991.
• North Carolina Press Association, Third Place, General News Reporting, 2005.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Lighter Columns, 2006.
Recently learned he will receive another award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Lighter Columns, 2010.
4. Lectured at or served on seminar panels at journalism schools at UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Maryland, Columbia University, Mary Washington University and Francis Marion University.

email author More by Mike