Off to the races: Filing period opens

Published 8:50 pm Monday, February 10, 2014

Although some candidates made their intentions known months ago, they couldn’t make it official until noon Monday.

That’s when the filing period for some national, state and local offices began. The filing period ends at noon Feb. 28. In Beaufort County this election cycle, voters will elect members of Congress, NC. General Assembly members, county commissioners, a sheriff, a clerk of court, school-board members and soil-and-water commissioners.

This year, three seats on the Beaufort County Board of Commissioners are available. Those seats are now held by Stan Deatherage, Ed Booth and Al Klemm. The even-numbered seats on the nine-member Beaufort County Board of Education are available this election cycle. Commissioners and school-board members serve four-year terms.

As of 3 p.m. Monday, three people had filed to seek to become the Democratic nominee for sheriff — Todd Alligood, Russell Davenport and .Gary Blount. Each wants to replace Sheriff Alan Jordan, a Democrat who is not seeking re-election.

Ed Booth, an incumbent Democratic county commissioner, filed for re-election. If more than three Democrats file for a seat on the board, they will face one another in a primary in May.

Keith Kidwell, chairman of the Beaufort County Republican Party, filed to run for a seat on the Beaufort County Board of Commissioners. If more than three Republicans file for a seat on the board, they will face one another in a primary in May.

Incumbent Clerk of Court Marty Paramore, a Democrat, filed for re-election. He is being challenged for the Democratic nomination for clerk of court by Eva Buck.

Incumbent Terry Williams has filed for re-election to the Beaufort County Board of Education as the representative from District 4. School-board races are nonpartisan.

Any candidate or person considering becoming a candidate and who has questions about election-related matters should call the Beaufort County Board of Elections at 946-2321 or visit the office at 1308 Highland Drive, Suite 104, Washington.

The filing fees for specific offices follow:

• Clerk of court, $834;

• Sheriff, $958;

• County commissioner, $152;

• School-board member, $31;

• Soil and Water Conservation Board member, $5 (filing period begins at noon June 9 ends at noon July 7.)

• U.S. senator or representative, $1,740;

• State senator or representative, $207;

• Justice, N.C. Supreme Court, $`1,426;

• Judge, N.C. Court of Appeals, $1.389;

• Superior Court judge, $1,299;

• District Court judge, $1,107;

• District attorney, $1,207.

Primaries are set for May 6. Early voting for the primaries begins April 24 and ends May 3. The general election is set for Nov. 4, with early voting in the general election beginning Oct. 23 and ending Nov. 1.

About Mike Voss

Mike Voss is the contributing editor at the Washington Daily News. He has a daughter and four grandchildren. Except for nearly six years he worked at the Free Lance-Star in Fredericksburg, Va., in the early to mid-1990s, he has been at the Daily News since April 1986.
Journalism awards:
• Pulitzer Prize for Meritorious Public Service, 1990.
• Society of Professional Journalists: Sigma Delta Chi Award, Bronze Medallion.
• Associated Press Managing Editors’ Public Service Award.
• Investigative Reporters & Editors’ Award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Public Service Award, 1989.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Investigative Reporting, 1990.
All those were for the articles he and Betty Gray wrote about the city’s contaminated water system in 1989-1990.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Investigative Reporting, 1991.
• North Carolina Press Association, Third Place, General News Reporting, 2005.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Lighter Columns, 2006.
Recently learned he will receive another award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Lighter Columns, 2010.
4. Lectured at or served on seminar panels at journalism schools at UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Maryland, Columbia University, Mary Washington University and Francis Marion University.

email author More by Mike