Primaries determine opponents in contests

Published 8:30 pm Friday, March 18, 2016

Unless ballot canvasses Tuesday or other factors change some election results, most contests for the Nov. 8 general election are set.

In Beaufort County, Republicans Hood Richardson, Derik Davis, Jerry Evans and Gary Brinn will face Democrats Jerry Langley, Robert Belcher and Greg Satterthwaite for the four seats available on the seven-member Beaufort County Board of Commissioners this election cycle. Richardson, Brinn, Langley and Belcher are incumbents.

Beaufort County School Board members Eltha Booth (District 1), Barbara Boyd-Williams (District 3), F. Mac Hodges, (District 5), Carolyn S. Walker (District 7) and Mike Isbell (District 9) are seeking re-election. Terry W. Draper is a candidate for the District 9 seat on the school board, which is nonpartisan. Hodges faces challenges from Kate A. Phelps and David Daniel for the District 5 seat on the nine-member board. Board members serve four-year, staggered terms.

In other Beaufort County and area contests, Republican Bill Cook, the incumbent who represents District 1 in the North Carolina Senate, faces a challenge from Democrat Brownie Futrell. Each lives in Beaufort County, which is part of the district that also includes Dare, Hyde, Currituck, Camden, Pasquotank, Perquimans and Gates counties.

Democrat Warren Judge and Republican Beverly Boswell are seeking to represent the 6th District in the North Carolina House of Representatives. Paul Tine, the current representative, is not seeking re-election. In January 2015, Tine changed his party affiliation from Democrat to unaffiliated. The district includes part of Beaufort County and all of Dare, Hyde and Washington counties.

Michael Speciale, the Republican who represents District 3 in the N.C. House of Representatives, faces a challenge from Democrat Marva Fisher Baldwin in his re-election bid. District 3 includes parts of Beaufort and Craven counties and all of Pamlico County.

Jennifer Leggett Whitehurst, the incumbent register of deeds in Beaufort County, is seeking re-election. She faces no opposition.

Michael A. Paul and Chris McLendon are seeking re-election as district court judges in the 2nd Judicial District.

Primaries for candidates seeking election to the U.S. House of Representatives are scheduled for June 7. Those primaries had been set for March 15, but the North Carolina General Assembly had to redraw congressional district maps after a federal three-judge panel ruled that the state’s 1st and 12th districts were unconstitutional because race was used in setting their boundaries. That caused those primaries to be rescheduled because district boundaries changed.

The filing period for the June 7 primaries began Wednesday and ends March 25.

Before the congressional primaries were rescheduled, Republicans Walter B. Jones, Phil Law and Taylor Griffin were running to determine the GOP nominee to represent the state’s 3rd District in the U.S. House of Representatives. Jones, the incumbent, is seeking an 11th term in Congress. The winner of that GOP primary faces Democrat David Hurst, if he re-files, in the general election.

Law re-filed Wednesday.

All of Beaufort County is in the 3rd District. Before the new district maps were drawn, part of the county was in the 1st District.




About Mike Voss

Mike Voss is the contributing editor at the Washington Daily News. He has a daughter and four grandchildren. Except for nearly six years he worked at the Free Lance-Star in Fredericksburg, Va., in the early to mid-1990s, he has been at the Daily News since April 1986.
Journalism awards:
• Pulitzer Prize for Meritorious Public Service, 1990.
• Society of Professional Journalists: Sigma Delta Chi Award, Bronze Medallion.
• Associated Press Managing Editors’ Public Service Award.
• Investigative Reporters & Editors’ Award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Public Service Award, 1989.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Investigative Reporting, 1990.
All those were for the articles he and Betty Gray wrote about the city’s contaminated water system in 1989-1990.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Investigative Reporting, 1991.
• North Carolina Press Association, Third Place, General News Reporting, 2005.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Lighter Columns, 2006.
Recently learned he will receive another award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Lighter Columns, 2010.
4. Lectured at or served on seminar panels at journalism schools at UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Maryland, Columbia University, Mary Washington University and Francis Marion University.

email author More by Mike