Election results for other contests

Published 9:03 pm Tuesday, November 7, 2017


Incumbent Aurora Mayor Clif Williams ran unopposed. He received 59 votes.

In the race for the two seats available on the Aurora Board of Commissioners, incumbents Patricia Bragg and Raleigh B. Lee were challenged by Jeff Peed. Peed received 53 votes; Lee, 45; and Bragg, 34.

In Bath, incumbent Commissioner Patricia Duffer was unchallenged in her re-election bid. The seat once held by Jay Hardin, who died earlier this year, was won by David C. Johnson, who faced no opposition.

Pantego Mayor Stuart E. Ricks was uncontested in his re-election bid.

Pantego’s Board of Commissioners will see no change, as the five incumbents seeking re-election faced no challengers. The following commissioners retained their seats: Mart Benson, Reid Gelderman, Chad Keech, Robert W. Lilley and Chuck Williams.

Tom Richter, mayor of Washington Park, was not challenged in his re-election campaign.

The town’s five incumbent commissioners also faced no challengers. Commissioners Lee Bowen, Belinda Cowell, Wade Dale, Patrick Nash and Jeff Peacock kept their seats.

About Mike Voss

Mike Voss is the contributing editor at the Washington Daily News. He has a daughter and four grandchildren. Except for nearly six years he worked at the Free Lance-Star in Fredericksburg, Va., in the early to mid-1990s, he has been at the Daily News since April 1986.
Journalism awards:
• Pulitzer Prize for Meritorious Public Service, 1990.
• Society of Professional Journalists: Sigma Delta Chi Award, Bronze Medallion.
• Associated Press Managing Editors’ Public Service Award.
• Investigative Reporters & Editors’ Award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Public Service Award, 1989.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Investigative Reporting, 1990.
All those were for the articles he and Betty Gray wrote about the city’s contaminated water system in 1989-1990.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Investigative Reporting, 1991.
• North Carolina Press Association, Third Place, General News Reporting, 2005.
• North Carolina Press Association, Second Place, Lighter Columns, 2006.
Recently learned he will receive another award.
• North Carolina Press Association, First Place, Lighter Columns, 2010.
4. Lectured at or served on seminar panels at journalism schools at UNC-Chapel Hill, University of Maryland, Columbia University, Mary Washington University and Francis Marion University.

email author More by Mike