Six candidates have filed for municipal elections

Published 5:34 pm Wednesday, July 7, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Six candidates had filed for office in the 2021 Beaufort County municipal elections as of Wednesday night. The filing period for all municipalities except Belhaven began on July 2 and will end at noon on July 16. Belhaven’s filing period begins at noon on July 26 and ends at noon on Aug. 13. A list of positions up for election this year can be viewed here.

Two candidates filed on Wednesday. Pantego Commissioner Mart Benson and Washington Park Commissioner Jeff Peacock filed for re-election to their respective boards. Gerald Bullock already filed as a candidate for commissioner in Chocowinity, where the seats held by commissioners Billy Albritton and Louise S. Furman are up for election. Washington Park Mayor Tom Richter and Washington Mayor Donald Sadler have filed for re-election. Washington City Councilman Richard Brooks has filed for re-election as well.

All filing fees are $10 and can be paid with cash or personal check. General information about filing for an election in North Carolina can be found here. Information specifically about filing in Beaufort County can be found here. Candidates can bring completed forms to the Board of Elections office, or they can pick up and fill out those forms at the office. Notaries are available at the Board of Elections office. Forms can be completed, notarized and mailed to the Board of Elections office, but they must be received by noon on June 16. The address is 1308 Highland Drive, Suite 104, Washington, N.C.  27889.