Filing period winding down for most municipalities

Published 8:42 pm Monday, July 12, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Three people filed as candidates for re-election as the final week of the filing period for most local municipal elections began Monday.

Aurora Mayor Clif Williams, Washington Park Commissioner Patrick Nash and Pantego Commissioner Reid Gelderman filed on Monday. The filing period for all Beaufort County municipalities except Belhaven ends at noon on Friday, July 16. Belhaven’s filing period begins July 26 and ends Aug. 13.

A list of positions up for election this year can be viewed here. All filing fees are $10 and can be paid with cash or personal check. General information about filing for an election in North Carolina can be found here. Information specifically about filing in Beaufort County can be found here. Candidates can bring completed forms to the Board of Elections office, or they can pick up and fill out those forms at the office. Notaries are available at the Board of Elections office. Forms can be completed, notarized and mailed to the Board of Elections office, but they must be received by noon on July 16. The address is 1308 Highland Drive, Suite 104, Washington, N.C.

Following is a list of candidates who had filed as of Monday. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk.


  • Mayor: Clif Williams *


  • Mayor: Jimmy Mobley *
  • Commissioner: Gerald Bullock, Billy Albritton *


  • Commissioner: Mart Benson *, Reid Gelderman * Chuck Williams, Chad Keech *

Washington Park 

  • Mayor: Tom Richter *
  • Commissioner: Jeff Peacock *, Patrick Nash *, Belinda Cowell *


  • Mayor: Donald Sadler *
  • City Council: Richard Brooks *, Mike Renn *, Betsy Kane *, A.J. Congleton